

Association for Women in the Sciences

# AWIS AGM 2023

Details: 2-3 pm on the 27th May, on Zoom.

Meeting started at 2.00 pm

Attendees: Carolina Loch (Chair), Ashleigh Fox, Emma Timewell, Sarah Baird, Malina Storer, Esther Haines (Secretary), Nicolette Rattenbury, Bobbi Laing, Alice Harford, Dawn Coates

Apologies: Kieran Arthur, Naomi Fleming

#### Acceptance of 2022 AGM minutes:

The minutes of the 2022 AGM held in Auckland on 30 July 2022 were circulated.

Malina asked if we had added in the amount that we set for life membership.

Carolina responded that the circulated minutes gave the amount for life membership as \$90, three times the annual membership fee.

Emma had spotted three typos (Bell for Dell and AEIS for AWIS and a missing link to the updated statistics).

Motion: That the minutes of the 2022 AGM, with these corrections, be accepted. Moved: Carolina Loch Seconded: Nicolette Rattenbury Carried.

### Reporting on the 2022-2023 year

#### National Co-Convenor report

Carolina presented the National Co-convenors' report. The report covers:

- membership in 2022-23 by region
- a summary of events held in Auckland, Christchurch and Dunedin



### Association for Women in the Sciences

- a summary of what the Executive has done
- AWIS Awards and Scholarships
  - $\circ$   $\,$  Nominations for the Miriam Dell Award close on 31 May  $\,$
  - The AWIS Women in STEM scholarships were not awarded in 2022 to bring the awards into line with the New Horizons for Women Trust's new timetable.
  - $\circ$   $\;$  The Gatehouse Travel Award was awarded to Sonali Sali
- AWIS has partnered with Mothers in Science and 16 other organisations across the world to call for immediate action to promote inclusion of caregivers and increase retention of women in STEMM
- ICWES 2023 organized by AWIS in partnership with Engineering NZ together with INWES, starts on 3 September 2023
- We are an active Constituent Organisation of the Royal Society Te Apārangi
- We are also a member of the National Council of Women of New Zealand

Carolina thanked members of the Executive and the Regional Convenors.

There was some discussion of which events had occurred in the 2022-23 financial year (1 April 2022 to 31 March 2023), for example, the Pink Ribbon Breakfast is in the 2023-24 financial year.

Malina suggested that sponsors of events should be acknowledged in the Convenors' report.

Motion: That the National Co-Convenors' report be accepted with the corrections and additions discussed.

Moved: Malina Storer Seconded: Emma Timewell. Carried.

#### Treasurer's Report

Malina Storer presented the financial report for 1 April 2022 to 31 March 2023. Income at \$3931.16 was down due to fewer subscriptions. Income includes the transfer of \$2472.92 from the Auckland Branch account, which has been closed. Expenditure was \$11872.31 so we made a loss of \$7941.15. The balance in the current account is \$15708.29. There is \$9766.75 on term deposit.

Motion: That the financial report be accepted. Moved: Nicolette Rattenbury Seconded: Bobbi Laing Carried.





### **Membership Fee**

That the current annual fees of \$30 for individuals and \$20 for students remain unchanged. The lifetime membership fee remains at three time the annual fee, that is, \$90.

Moved: Emma Timewell Seconded: Malina Storer Carried.

## **Rules Change**

There were no changes to the rules.

## **Election of officers**

#### Executive

National convenor: Kieren Arthur and Emma Timewell Treasurer: Malina Storer Secretary: Esther Haines Membership secretary: Sarah Baird Editor/website: Carolina Loch Publicity / Recruitment: Naomi Fleming Additional Executive Members: Nicolette Rattenbury, Bobbi Laing

#### **Regional Convenors:**

Auckland: Nicolette Rattenbury, Ashleigh Fox, Alice Harford Waikato Manawatu Wellington Tasman Christchurch Malina Storer and Bobbi Laing (acting) Dunedin Carolina Loch (acting)

That the above positions be filled by the people indicated. Moved: Malina Storer Seconded: Sarah Baird Carried.



### Association for Women in the Sciences

Carolina Loch thanked retiring Executive Member Dawn Coates for her contributions and welcomed returning Executive Member Bobbi Laing.

There was no further business and the meeting closed at 2.44 pm

